Announcing global search for next Pilchuck Artistic Director

Published Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Pilchuck Glass School is excited to announce the search for its next Artistic Director.

Pilchuck Glass School is seeking a creative leader to shape and implement the next phase of the institution’s programming. The Artistic Director will set and lead the organization’s programmatic vision; represent the organization to its past, present, and prospective constituents; and manage interactions with an array of creative professionals on and off campus.

 “We are excited by the opportunity to welcome a new Artistic Director to guide Pilchuck Glass School through its 50th Anniversary and beyond,” shares Executive Director Christopher R. Taylor. “Pilchuck is looking for candidates who, along with being in touch with the current state of glass art, approach the art form with a visionary perspective that will help keep Pilchuck at the forefront of our field.”

Pilchuck has been fortunate to have a long history of artistic direction from visionaries like Dale Chihuly, Benjamin Moore, William Morris, Marjorie Levy, Pike Powers, Ruth King, and most recently, Tina Aufiero.

“Pilchuck Glass School has a reputation of experimentation, collaboration, and pushing the boundaries of glass art and design,” says Taylor.  “Our next Artistic Director will build upon this reputation and continue to attract students and instructors from around the world.”

Founded in 1971 by Dale Chihuly, Anne Gould Hauberg, and John H. Hauberg, the school’s iconic history and legacy as an international center for glass art education has inspired thousands of artists. Located in Stanwood, Washington, the serene and rustic campus invites hundreds of artists from around the world each year to participate in programs as instructors, students, summer staff, and for residencies. In recent years, the school has launched new initiatives in expanding programming through spring and fall retreats with local youth organizations.

The position description can be found here

Applications must be received by Friday, December 21, 2018 for consideration.